top of page

Miss Valerie French Poetry: LIBERTE - FREEDOM by Paul Eluard (Eugène Émile Paul Grindel)

by Valerie Swanson-Parmentier - I am sharing this poem in hommage to #samuelpaty


This poem was published on the 3rd of April 1942 by the French poet Paul Éluard, without apparent censorship, in the clandestine book of poetry Poésie et vérité 1942 (Poetry and truth 1942). It is an ode to liberty written during the German occupation of France.



Poem in French (and followed by Poem in English)


Sur mes cahiers d’écolier Sur mon pupitre et les arbres Sur le sable sur la neige J’écris ton nom


Sur toutes les pages lues Sur toutes les pages blanches Pierre sang papier ou cendre J’écris ton nom


Sur les images dorées Sur les armes des guerriers Sur la couronne des rois J’écris ton nom


Sur la jungle et le désert Sur les nids sur les genêts Sur l’écho de mon enfance J’écris ton nom


Sur les merveilles des nuits Sur le pain blanc des journées Sur les saisons fiancées J’écris ton nom


Sur tous mes chiffons d’azur Sur l’étang soleil moisi Sur le lac lune vivante J’écris ton nom


Sur les champs sur l’horizon Sur les ailes des oiseaux Et sur le moulin des ombres J’écris ton nom


Sur chaque bouffée d’aurore Sur la mer sur les bateaux Sur la montagne démente J’écris ton nom


Sur la mousse des nuages Sur les sueurs de l’orage Sur la pluie épaisse et fade J’écris ton nom


Sur les formes scintillantes Sur les cloches des couleurs Sur la vérité physique J’écris ton nom


Sur les sentiers éveillés Sur les routes déployées Sur les places qui débordent J’écris ton nom


Sur la lampe qui s’allume Sur la lampe qui s’éteint Sur mes maisons réunies J’écris ton nom


Sur le fruit coupé en deux Du miroir et de ma chambre Sur mon lit coquille vide J’écris ton nom


Sur mon chien gourmand et tendre Sur ses oreilles dressées Sur sa patte maladroite J’écris ton nom


Sur le tremplin de ma porte Sur les objets familiers Sur le flot du feu béni J’écris ton nom


Sur toute chair accordée Sur le front de mes amis Sur chaque main qui se tend J’écris ton nom


Sur la vitre des surprises Sur les lèvres attentives Bien au-dessus du silence J’écris ton nom


Sur mes refuges détruits Sur mes phares écroulés Sur les murs de mon ennui J’écris ton nom


Sur l’absence sans désir Sur la solitude nue Sur les marches de la mort J’écris ton nom


Sur la santé revenue Sur le risque disparu Sur l’espoir sans souvenir J’écris ton nom


Et par le pouvoir d’un mot Je recommence ma vie Je suis né pour te connaître Pour te nommer

Liberté.


Paul Eluard

Poésie et vérité 1942 (recueil clandestin) Au rendez-vous allemand (1945, Les Editions de Minuit)


Here is my own translation of the French poem. It's a literal translation so you could understand the vocabulary.


On my school notebooks On my school desk and the trees On the sand on the snow I write your name


On all the pages read On all the blank pages Stone blood paper or ash I write your name


On the golden images On the warriors’ arms On the kings’ crown I write your name


On the jungle and the desert On the nests on the brooms On the echo of my childhood I write your name


On the wonders of the nights On the white bread of the days On the engaged seasons I write your name


On all my rags of azure On the pond mildewed sun On the lake moon alive I write your name


On the fields on the horizon On the birds’ wings And on shadows’ mill I write your name


On every puff of dawn On the sea on the boats On the insane mountain I write your name


On the foam of the clouds On the sweat of the storm On the thick and dull rain I write your name


On the scintillating figures On the colors’ bells On the physical truth I write your name


On the awake paths On the unfurled roads On the overflowing squares I write your name


On the lamp that comes alight On the lamp that dies out On my combined houses I write your name


On the fruit cut in halves Of the mirror and of my room On my empty shell bed I write your name


On my gourmand and tender dog On his pricked up ears On his clumsy paw I write your name


On the springboard of my door On the familiar objects On the flood of the blessed fire I write your name


On any granted flesh On my friends’ forehead On every hand held out I write your name


On the window of the surprises On the attentive lips Well above the silence I write your name


On my destroyed shelters On my crumbled beacons On the walls of my boredom I write your name


On the absence without desire On the bare solitude On the steps of death I write your name


On the health returned On the risk disappeared On hope without remembrance I write your name


And by the power of a word I start my life again I was born to know you To name you

Freedom.

Paul Eluard et Maria Ben

bottom of page